Little Stint at Farmoor Reservoir – 14th Sep

After the past two Sundays’ twitches I needed to catch up on local admin today (ie chores), and so didn’t go out until the late afternoon. On arriving at Oxford’s Farmoor Reservoir, a visitor told me: “There’s a Little Stint over there where those photographers are.” Looking through my binoculars I saw the big lenses belonged to Oxonbirders Chiv and Bob, with video support (I assumed) from Badger.

Thinking this bird must be on Farmoor 1, I walked to the end of the causeway but couldn’t see it. Then on my way back I found the Stint feeding happily at the edge of Farmoor 2. As is often the case with juvenile waders on autumn passage here, it allowed a close approach. After practising on a Dunlin in the poor light to get the camera setting right, I managed a nice shot to add to my recent Farmoor gallery (see 31st Aug post). Voila!

Little Stint (juvenile)

Little Stint (juvenile)

2 thoughts on “Little Stint at Farmoor Reservoir – 14th Sep

Leave a Reply

